fbpx

If you like this – try this!

By Krista Culbertson, Editor

There are many tried-and-true books that grace the shelves of nearly every library. The David Walliamses and J K Rowlings of the book world. But what do your students read after they devour those?

Recommendations can be tricky. Students like certain stories for a variety of reasons. So we in the Content team have gathered all our book-ish knowledge and come up with series similar to your students’ favourites.

You can find all of the book and quiz information using AR Bookfinder. Just use the Series topic in Advanced Search, and select the series name as the subtopic!

Future favourites…

Dirty Bertie and Horrid Henry are the masters of mischief. They’re both loveable and naughty, a lot like the main character in Vulgar the Viking.

Vulgar just wants to be a real Viking. He longs to sail on longboats and have sword fights. But wherever Vulgar goes, trouble is sure to follow. These books by “Odin Redbeard” are hilarious and filled with memorable characters. Perfect for children aged 5-8.

R L Stine’s Goosebumps books are incredibly popular with children looking for a fright. While there are countless Goosebumps books to choose from, there are many other great series in a similar vein.

For struggling readers, I recommend Michael Dahl’s hi-lo School Bus of Horror. Each book is less than 1000 words, much shorter than Goosebumps, and have quick chapters.  The pictures are also gleefully spooky!

The interest age for these books is 9 to 13, and they have an ATOS level of 2.5-3.5.

A fan favourite within the Content team is The Secrets at St Jude’s series. St Jude’s is a boarding school in Edinburgh. Thrown together into one dorm is a mix of girls from all over the world. They each have their different interests and hobbies, but become close friends…all while getting in to hilarious shenanigans!

The main characters remind us of the close-knit friendship groups that we read about in classics like Confessions of Georgia Nicolson and Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants.

Our Assistant Editor Kerry had a lot to say about St Jude’s. “I love that there’s never a dull moment at St Jude’s. Drama is always just around the corner and Gina, Min, Niffy and Amy are always up to some sort of mischief, sneaking out to parties, meeting up with boys, gossiping or playing pranks. This is a funny, light-hearted series. It has relatable characters which takes me back to my teens and makes me want to go to a boarding school!”

For lovers of non-fiction football books like Ultimate Football Heroes by Tom and Matt Oldfield, the Football School series is the perfect next step. These books contain facts, infographics and weird tales about the beautiful sport.

Sports-mad students will surely love learning more about football. But the stories could even appeal to those interested in strange stories or science.

Football School is for anyone who loves to share fun-facts,” said our Editorial Assistant Alex. “I love football, but even I learned a lot from these books. The funny pictures were the best part.”

The Hunger Games is one of the most successful and popular YA series of the millennium. Many dystopian series followed in its wake: Divergent, Shatter Me, and the Selection series.

But one of the best in recent years has to be The Extinction Trials by S M Wilson. This trilogy follows Stormchaser, a girl living on a ruined continent. A group of people are chosen each year to travel west to another continent – one ruled by dinosaurs.

This series has the same fast-paced action seen in The Hunger Games. But the addition of dinosaurs makes it a great mash-up with Jurassic Park. Something we didn’t know was needed until we read the books! It’s certainly a trilogy that students will find difficult to put down.

Please share your comments on our Facebook and Twitter pages.


Krista Culbertson
Editor


Posted on 22 May 2019 at 1:53 pm
Tagged with , , , , , , ,


Quick Links


Monthly Quiz List

Each month, we publish a list of the new AR quizzes released in the previous month.

October 2019

Previous months


Subscribe to monthly newsletter


Partners & Special Offers

We work with carefully selected partners who share our mission of accelerating learning for all and provide services that complement our programmes.

Special offer!

Logo for Scotia Books

Favourites from Twitter